Livia Awards

On Wednesday 16th November, students and staff from St Clement Danes School attended the Livia Awards held at Portcullis House, Westminster. The award honours outstanding investigative work by police officers in the Roads and Transport Policing Command of the Metropolitan Police Service. The officers investigate serious injury and death on the roads, and also offer support to families of those affected, through family liaison work.

The award ceremony has been held annually following the tragic death of St Clement Danes student Livia Galli-Atkinson in 1998. The Livia Award for Professionalism and Service to Justice was created in memory of Livia, who was killed on the 12th January 1998 by a driver who mounted the pavement in his car, striking her as she was walking to her ballet class. The first award ceremony was held the following year in 1999.

A message from the Prime Minister was read out that also commended the work of Livia's parents, George and Giulietta Galli-Atkinson, for their tireless campaigning on road safety education, legislation and enforcement.

A number of staff and students were privileged to attend this year’s ceremony. Guest speakers included Richard Holden, Minister for Roads and Public Transport and Members of Parliament and officers from the Metropolitan Police Service, all of whom spoke eloquently and with passion about road safety measures and legislation.

The guests heard the details of the officers who were nominated for awards before presentations were made to these worthy recipients.

Head Girl, Simran Lily-Mudhar, commented “It was an inspirational event, and it was a privilege to be there. It was insightful to hear about the tragic accidents that occur daily on our roads. It really made me appreciate the work that the police do.”

Guests enjoyed an outstanding musical performance by classical guitarist Gus McQuade from The Royal Academy of Music.

At the conclusion of the ceremony thanks and a silent remembrance were held.

Further details regarding the campaign, and details of this year's overall winner, can be found following the link below:



Category / All Articles