Our Governance

St Clement Danes School is part of Danes Educational Trust. The Danes Educational Trust Board has responsibility for the operation of the Trust, but delegates some of the responsibilities to a local level. Therefore, schools within the Trust have a School Board, comprising local Governors. The School Board holds 4 meetings per year. In addition, each School Board has an Admissions Committee and a Senior Staff Pay and Remuneration Committee.

To contact the Chair of Governors or request the minutes of the School Board meetings, please email 

School Board of St Clement Danes School

Below you will find further details of our School Board. 

Steve clarke 300dpiMr Steve Clarke (Interim Chair)

Steve Clarke was appointed co-opted governor in September 2019 and he has two boys currently at the school. Steve is co-founder of a technology consultancy and he has also been a corporate Chief Technology Officer. As a result, he is particularly interested in helping develop the school’s technology strategy and capability and the student’s engagement with STEM. Steve is the community link governor for staff.


Trust Appointed Governors:            

Shane MMrs Shane Markanday

Shane was appointed as a Co-opted Governor in June 2021. She is an experienced accountant currently working as an Internal Audit Manager at a large global banking group. Shane has had varied experience managing and delivering a range of specialist reviews across both the public and private sector including HR, Finance, Operations and Compliance. She is passionate about inclusion and diversity and the importance of wellbeing at work. Shane is the community link governor for parents and the wider community.            


Scott kempDr Scott Kemp 

Scott was appointed a parent governor in 2018 and has three sons at the school. He is a consultant intensivist and anaesthetist at the Hammersmith Hospital, Imperial College Trust. He is the clinical lead for ICU. He has experience in delivering medical education and is involved in the process of accreditation of standards in anaesthesia. Scott is the community link governor for safeguarding/attendance.


Jamie lewMrs Joyce Blacha

Joyce was appointed a Co-opted governor in 2023. She has over 15 years of experience in Risk Management in financial services and is currently a Control and Governance Manager in a large banking corporation. She has 3 young daughters in primary school, one of which has special needs. She is passionate about building awareness about neurodiversity and mental health. She is always interested and open to coaching young people and creating early careers opportunities for them. Joyce enjoys reading and travelling. Joyce is the community link governor for careers.


Elected Staff Governor:

Mr Henry Fry (Biography to follow)


Elected Parent Governors:

BlachaMrs Jaime-Lee Keen

Jaime-Lee has a son in Year 9 and twin girls joining the school in September 2023. She believes she will bring a sound parent perspective to the governor role. Jaime-Lee currently works at Deloitte, where she is a senior management consultant alongside mentoring early talent. Prior to this she worked at NHS England in young people’s mental health, policy and transformation team. Jaime-Lee is the community link governor for vulnerable learners.


Dsc 0806

Mr Danny Kindell

Danny was appointed a parent governor in 2023 and has two sons at the school. For the past seven years, Danny has also been involved in the SCD Business Mentoring Programme. Danny is a former student and former Head Boy of the school in 1992. Following his time at St Clement Danes, Danny was awarded a 4 Year Soccer Scholarship at the University of Hartford, Connecticut USA. On returning to the UK Danny joined the family IT business, NBM Technology Solutions Ltd and after holding various roles in the Company, became Managing Director in 2004. Danny is the community link governor for SEND.



Mr Toby Sutherland

0z7a9566 v2Toby joined St Clement Danes School in September 2017 as Deputy Headteacher before being appointed Headteacher in January 2018. He joined us from Queens’ School, Bushey where he was Deputy Headteacher for four years.

School Board Meeting Attendance

School Board Membership

School Board Declarations of Interest